23 Replies Latest reply on Jul 7, 2011 11:06 AM by Wayne Matus

"On-The-Fly" email notifications

Dwayne Morton
      PDMWE allows automatic email notifications to assigned checkers orapprovers when a file changes state in the vault by"Triggers" set in the documents workflow. This is greatfor large companies that have full time checkers, etc. However, ina small company where you wear many hats, this is not so good.

I would like to use the PDMWE add-in capability to trigger a"Pop up" when a user changes the file state that willallow selection a persons name from a drop down list, read the nameof the currently selected file, and then envoke a PDMWEnotification to that person that he/she has been assigned to checkor approve the file.

I am not a programmer but I do know what is needed to make thishappen. I was hoping that some of you CAD programmig Guru's outthere can get me started.
        • "On-The-Fly
          Barry Newlands
          I agree with this. We have specifically asked whether this feature was available with our pending decision to purchase PDME.
            • "On-The-Fly
              Brian Peck

I've also noticed a need for such an add-in, and decided to goahead and learn some PDMWE API to write it. Our reason for needingthis option are different than yours, we do have full timecheckers, however, they dislike being spammed with notifications tocheck files from other departments, and receiving 30 notificationswhen an assembly needs checking is simply annoying. The add-in Ideveloped aims to rid these issues with a simple pop up assuggested.