2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 16, 2015 7:05 PM by Andrei Popov

Model rocket center of pressure/location of aerodynamic forces

Jason Meyers

Hi,

I am new to flow sim and am attempting to use it to determine the location of the aerodynamic forces on a model rocket.  I've been attempting to figure this out using a simplified model, which is attached.  If all of the aerodynamic forces are simplified into a single vector, the point from which said vector originates, sometimes called the center of pressure, is what I am looking for.  Extensive searching has suggested using a torque goal, but I haven't been able to figure out how to use that to identify a point.  Also, I am able to get the force, either total or by component, but not the point it acts at.

How do i find this point?  Thanks for any suggestions or resources.

The position and magnitude of the force vector will vary with velocity and angle between the rocket and the fluid, the assembly attached has the rocket at 5 degrees and the fluid at 10 m/s, once I figure out how to do this I plan to test a number of values to get data over the expected operating range

• Re: Model rocket center of pressure/location of aerodynamic forces
          Shivani Patel

Is your main concern to create a plot for Center of Pressure vs angle of attack? To determine stability?

This is what SOLIDWORKS has to say on the subject:

It is impossible to determine the point of application of a force from its Force and Moment components. All that can be obtained in the line (not point) of application of the force: the lien of application is the infinite line passing through the actual point of application and parallel to the force vector.

Extra information from another source has to be used to determine the point of application on the line.