8 Replies Latest reply on May 18, 2015 8:37 PM by Y. A

3D modeling project for your customer?

Y. A

Hi everyone, i'm a new guy around here and after going across some of those topic I haven't figure it out something.

1- How normally a 3D designer will show his project to his customer for review?

I like to hear all kind of opinion about it, picture, video... I like to know which one is the comun way for a 3D designer show his (work) final project to his customer.

I'm a web designer and I know how to show my proposal and project to my customer, but in a 3D environment I like to hear everyone's  opinion about it.

• Re: 3D modeling project for your customer?
          Deepak Gupta

There could be various ways depending on how your customer wants and what relations you've and finally how much information you want to share.

All use all of the following depending on requirements:

1. Pictures

2. 3d PDF

3. eDrawings

4. Video

5. 3d Models

John Stoltzfus

A nice clean 3D model that you can show the customer on screen will almost always open up the communication lines and hopefully close the deal. 

Change your environment background and lighting, use good colors and graphics.....

But show it where you can spin it, chop it and explode it

Mike Pogue

For the actual presentation, an annotated power point with screen shots, analysis result, engineering calcs, etc. is very common. Customers without an engineering background seem to really like e-drawings, and I don't blame them. It's a great way to communicate solid models.

Alin Vargatu

Best is on a big screen from an iPad using eDrawings with Augmented Reality on. If the product is small enough, take a picture of your customer holding it in his hand. If the product is big, film it.

If the product is supposed to move/rotate, film it.

Of course, do not forget to turn off the User Interface buttons and remove the edge representation. I forgot to do that in the picture below.

File 2015-05-12, 11 25 24 AM.png