4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 30, 2015 5:11 PM by Jamil Snead

Pitch Circle Diameter holes

John Wayman

Hello,

I am new to SW, so this may be a simple question. I can't find the answer in a quick search of this forum, or in SW help, however.

I have a part with 3 M3 tapped holes, equispaced on a diameter 35 pitch circle diameter.

I would like to create them in that way, and have my drawing note parametrically read something like:

3 X M3-6H x 6 MIN FULL THREAD

EQUISPACED ON A (diameter symbol)35 PCD

Firstly, how do I tell SW to create the holes with this dimensioning scheme? I imagine the hole wizard is my friend, but I am not sure exactly how to accomplish it.

Next, how do I get the dimension to show as desired on the drawing?

Thank you for your help.

SW2014, SP5

Cheers,

John

Just as a postscript, in Pro/E, I would create the 1st hole on a diameter/angle and pattern it using the angle dimension. In the drawing, I would make the note read something &p1 X M3x0.5-6h EQUISPACED ON A &D123PCD, where p1 would be the number of pattern instances and D123 would be the diameter dimension. I imagine the technique is something similar in SW, but I am struggling a bit.

John

Message was edited by: John Wayman

• Re: Pitch Circle Diameter holes
          Jamil Snead

Here's one method you can use. Start the hole wizard and when you are sketching the hole locations draw the pitch circle and one point on it. Then use a Circular Sketch Pattern to copy the point equally around the circle. I think the sketch pattern automatically adds a point at the center of the circle so you will need to manually delete that point or else a hole will get put there. Using the pattern instead of manually drawing the 3 points will make it easy to change the number of holes you want. Just double click on the "3" and change it to a different number.

pcd1.PNGpcd2.PNGpcd3.PNG