1 Reply Latest reply on Apr 26, 2015 11:56 PM by Jared Conway

**SW CFD running MUCH slower than it should be?!!?

Brian Martin

I'm hoping someone out there might have some advice.  I am a student and do not have a full understanding of exactly how the flow sim is using my pc, so please bear with me.

First off, PC specs:

Mobo: Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD5H

CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K (Quad-core 4.0 GHz)

RAM: G.Skill Sniper 16GB (2x8GB) (DDR3 1866)

HDD: WD Black WD2003FZEX (2TB, 7200 RPM)

SSD: Intel 530 Series 120 GB

Video: EVGA GeForce GTX 760 (2GB, 256 bit GDDR5, 1152 CUDA Cores)

PS: Rosewill Capstone 750W

Water cooled

Win 7 (64 bit)

SW Version: 2013 (64 bit) Student

This is a new PC build as my 6 year old laptop couldn't cut it anymore with all of my engineering software.  When I first started using the PC, the flow sim studies that took my old laptop 6 hrs were taking my PC about 30 sec on average.  Then, I moved out of my apartment and re-setup my PC and all of the sudden I'm having strange issues with the CFD.  The solver is still ultra fast, but as soon as I switch into the flow sim tab, the program slows down in a major way.  I.e. while trying to setup computational domain, a right click can take 5-10 seconds to appear, but my CPU usage is very low and if I switch over to my internet browser (for example), no speed issues, then when I run the simulation (takes FOREVER to get it started as rotating the model, right clicking, etc. in the flow sim tab is strangely super slow), the solver is super fast.