10 Replies Latest reply on Apr 13, 2015 1:26 PM by Rolando Garza

Annotation Link to Property

Rolando Garza

Hi

I'm new to SW macros and am looking for a bit of help.

I have an Annotation on my drawing.

I have a property named "VPN1".

I would like the Annotation to display the value of the property.

I've seen a few examples on the forum on how an annotation can be created with a link to a property.

But I already have the annotation, i just want to link it to the property.

I don't see how I can address the annotation object.

I was hoping to snag the object by name and just change the annoation.text = property.value; but, I can't even see how to assign a name to the annotation.

Can anyone shed some light on how I might be able to write a macro for this linking operation?

• Re: Annotation Link to Property
          Jim Sculley

Questions:

1.  Is the property in the model or the drawing?

2.  Is this intended to happen in new drawings, or do you have to process a bunch of existing drawings, or both?

3.  Does the existing annotation contain any text?  If so, is it the same text for all drawings?

Jim S.

Christoph Neundorf

Why do you need a macro for that?

Wouldn't a block fulfil the task?

Simply create a block from the annotation text $PRP:"VPN1" or $PRPSHEET:"VPN1" (depending on the location of the property - model or drawing).

The procedure is the same as it is used for filling title blocks.

http://www.aboutsolidworks.com/title_block.htm

Regards,

Chris

Christoph Neundorf

You have to know the name of the annotation feature.

It's type should be "Note".

2012 SOLIDWORKS API Help - Get Note By Name Example (VBA)

If you don't know the name of the note perhaps you can check the content of all notes to match with a specified text to get the name.

Then you can link to a property.

Rolando Garza

I was hoping to address it by name.

But, I don't see how I can I assign the annotation a name.

How is that done?

Christoph Neundorf