7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 28, 2015 4:04 AM by Paul Cullen

Printing 6ft wide drawing on 2ft paper

Kalem Fetters

hey all, I'm looking to print the base of my tube frame car on our schools plotter. The drawing is 6ft wide, our plotter goes up to 42in, but my instructor is letting me use as much 2ft paper as I please. My plan was to print three sections and tape them together on my frame table, but I have no idea where to start as this is my first time printing a large project. Thanks.

• Re: Printing 6ft wide drawing on 2ft paper
          Alex Holt

Is this squared or reeled paper? And how tall is the drawing? May be a stupid suggestion but if it's less than 2ft then just print it sideways?

Otherwise, I would just ensure you have overlapping sections to ensure good lining up when taping together, and just print sections of the correct size as required.

John Stoltzfus

I would save the file as a dxf and use DraftSight or AutoCAD to open up the dxf - then do print select window - set your paper size and you should be good

DraftSight is a free download

Alex Holt

That's what I was getting at - I wasn't sure if you could print a section in SolidWorks. Shame that you can't, it's a feature I use a lot in DraftSight.

Why save as a DXF though? I'd only ever use a DXF for a CNC application, and a DWG for a drawing. I guess for this though it doesn't matter.

The downside with this method however is if OP has any shaded views on the drawing.

John Stoltzfus

Well both came in at the same time lol

Kalem - I did forget to mention that I also grid my paper, for what you're doing maybe every 6" or so would be good, this is to cut and tape.

One important thing is you do need to adjust your scale and/or print percentage, as the printer is not going to accurately print 100% 1:1 scale - there was a post just last week on this subject, I'll look it up 

Kalem Fetters