8 Replies Latest reply on Apr 16, 2015 10:03 AM by Alex Graff

Run Macro in Task Scheduler

Alex Graff

Hello,

I just started writing macros yesterday so I am very new to this. By sifting through various forums and many discussions on this forum I managed to create a macro to do what I need. With a drawing open it deletes the current revision table and inserts a new revision table in the proper location. It isn't quite perfect because I was having trouble with the proper anchor location but somehow it is working. I now need a way to run this in task scheduler so it will open, change the revision table and save all the drawings in a given directory. Any help with this would be great. I will post what I currently have. Like I said it is bits and pieces that I put together that I found so I can't take much credit for the work done. I am not familiar with the namespace and arguments everything uses so it might be a little messy still.

I believe I need to take what I have and update it and save it as a .swb file. I know I need to define a string and then have the string be $$$my_file_path$$$ so I can input the desired directory in the parameters in task managers custom task. I am just getting to the point where I am getting lost with only minimal programming experience and only a day in SolidWorks API. The code below is what I have working as a macro on an open file. I am getting lost when it comes to opening changing and saving multiple files in a folder.

It took me 6 hours to get only as far as I am so I figured it was time to reach out for help. If I cant get this working I'm stuck doing all several hundred drawings by hand, which won't be as bad as it was now that I at least have a macro... but still a lengthy process.

Thanks in advance!

Const TABLE_TEMPLATE As String = "H:\SolidWorks\Revision Table Templates\MARIS REVISION.sldrevtbt"

Dim swApp As SldWorks.SldWorks

Dim swModel As SldWorks.ModelDoc2

Dim swDraw As SldWorks.DrawingDoc