6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 16, 2015 1:32 AM by Jason Bourne

Reading multiple inputs for SelectByID2 from text file

Jason Bourne

Hello all,

I am very new to VBA (but competent in Python) and would like some help on the following problem as I am having trouble writing a functioning macro for SolidWorks:

I am setting up an automated workflow for the production of sheetmetal parts which are exported as 0 thickness polysurfaces from Rhinoceros as STEP files. I am also automating the export of a text file which identifies the fixed face, bend edges, thickness and radius parameters for each STEP file which I would like to convert into a SheetMetal Part in SW.

Each text file looks like this:

"FACE" 37.0334 3.6163 0.0

"EDGE" 36.4862 3.6163 0.0

"EDGE" 36.4862 3.3663 0.1724

"EDGE" 37.5807 3.6163 0.0

"EDGE" 37.0334 3.3663 0.0

The corresponding VBA macro looks like this:

Dim swApp As Object

Dim part As Object

Dim boolstatus As Boolean

Dim longstatus As Long, longwarnings As Long

Sub main()

Set swApp = Application.SldWorks

boolstatus = swApp.LoadFile2("C:\Users\userName\Desktop\Part1.stp", "r")

Set part = swApp.ActiveDoc

Open "C:\Users\g.maciocci\Desktop\FACE_EDGE_LIST.txt" For Input As #1

Do While Not EOF(1)

Input #1, SelType, X, Y, Z

Set boolstatus = part.Extension.SelectByID2("", SelType, X, Y, Z, True, 0, Nothing, 0)     <----------- THIS IS WHERE I GET A TYPE MISMATCH ERROR THROWN

Loop

Close #1

boolstatus = part.FeatureManager.InsertConvertToSheetMetal2(0.003, False, False, 0.003, 0.002, 0, 0.5, 0, 0.5, False)

part.ClearSelection2 True

longstatus = part.SaveAs3("C:\Users\userName\Desktop\Part1.SLDPRT", 0, 2)

swApp.CloseDoc "Part1.SLDPRT"

End Sub

Now I know this is down to totally illiterate use of the VBA language!