The feature in the admin tool under license to automatically log users off after 30 minutes of inactivity is gone in 2015. Has this simply moved to a different menu or did they really remove this?
Hello. KB solution S-067244 is what you seek. The licensing moved to the SNL for 2015, so the timeout is now controlled by the SNL.
Does the automatic logging out still follow the same algorithm that it used to?
If you had 3 licenses and 3 people using EPDM, then it would never log anyone off despite there being a timeout set. The moment that a 4th person tried to log in, if anyone has been inactive for more than the timeout, it would log off the user who had been inactive the longest.
Is this still the case? Thanks.
From what I have seen, Yes it still works this way. Be prepared for some grudging when people come back to their desk and find they have been booted.
I can't attach the file, but I was sent a document which explains how the timeout is handled (Document S-067248). There is a grace period of 20 minutes where it will allow users to share a license instead of being booted out immediately. They experience warning notifications in the taskbar tray.
This is news to me....I've never heard of the option to share a license. If this is a new feature and you find out how it works please post.
Here are some quotes from the document (it appears there is a 30 minute grace period where multiple users can share a license):
"The following example explains the functionality on license server with 1 license and two separate clients (clientA, and clientB). The license timeout is set to 900 second/15 minutes (the lowest possible timeout value).
- ClientA is logged in to the Vault and thus consumes the available license.
- Trying to log into the vault from clientB will not be allowed as expected.
- ClientA remains logged in, but is kept inactive for 15+ minutes. This will cause the license to timeout and the SNL Server will reclaim the license from clientA and put it back to the license pool.
- We are now at the point where the license pool has 1 available license, and clientA is still logged into the vault, but inactive. This available license can be either checked out again by clientA or another client (clientB) as described in the following two scenarios."
"Scenario1: ClientA checking out the license If we make clientA active again by accessing the vault, check-in, check-out, undo check-out, get latest, etc. ClientA will try to check out the license (provided it is still available). If this succeeds there will be no notification that the license was reclaimed due to the inactivity."
"Scenario2: ClientB checking out the license However, if clientA remains inactive and we login to the vault from clientB, the available license will now be checked out by clientB instead.
If clientA becomes active again it will try to check out the license, but since there are now no available licenses the log will show that the check out is denied.
This will start a 'grace period' that is about 20 minutes, allowing clientA to still work in the vault. After the grace period a notification balloon will pop-up, informing the user that the license cannot be checked out. Note that if a license becomes available during this grace period, clientA will check out that license.
If a license is still not available, after an additional 10 minutes a second pop-up will show up informing the user that the connection to the vault will be lost. A login dialog will show and user will be unable to login unless a license becomes available."
Retrieving data ...