9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 27, 2015 8:16 AM by Glenn Schroeder

SolidWorks and Autodesk Inventor Professional

Robert Calavetta

I have been using Autodesk Inventor Professional for 6 years now but we are now thinking of switching to SolidWorks. If my company was to switch to SolidWorks will my Autodesk Inventor files be able to be editing using SolidWorks or will they become dumb files. We currently have over 300 parts/assemblies that have been created in Autodesk Inventor. Also we are using Autodesk Vault Professional to store our files. Will we still be able to check in and out SolidWork files using Vault Professional? We are using the Vault and Inventor 2012 version but do have the 2015 versions just not installed on our computers yet.

Thanks in Advance,

Robert

• Re: SolidWorks and Autodesk Inventor Professional
          J. Mather

The files will be converted to base solids.

You can run feature recognition to rebuild history tree (I only use on features that I actually need to edit) or use direct editing techniques.

Your assemblies will lose constraints.

You are out of luck with existing associative 2D.

Robert Calavetta

O man that will really stink losing all constraints on Assembly files. Base files are always a pain to edit as-well. Thanks for the heads-up

John Burrill

Wow, what's driving that decision?

Are you unable to do something in Inventor that can be done in SolidWorks?

I mean, what J said is correct.  You're going to lose 60% of your work in translation.  Everything from metadata to, appearances and textures to 2D sketches to exploded views to drawings-whole freakin drawings will have to be recreated.

Is it because Autodesk is putting an end to perpetual licensing?  That's not going to affect you since you already have your seats.

Robert Calavetta