23 Replies Latest reply on Sep 14, 2011 2:57 PM by Tom Grimm

ASCII file of XYZ into SW?

Bill Chernoff
      I have a set of data describing a delaunay triangulation.  Iwould like to get this data into Solidworks.  It looks likerandom-sized, joined 3d triangles, like a tiling, only withrandom triangles.  I can format the data any way I want. So if I could load a 3d sketch of each triangle, that wouldbe fine.  I could live with loading all the line segments. 

If my ASCII data was a list like this:

x1,y1z1,x2,y2,z2  
      x3,y3,z3, x4,y4,z4
      how would I automatically draw a line from (x1,y1,z1) to(x2,y2,z2), etc

Thanks for any suggestions.  I am not a total newbie with SW,but reading outside data files into SW is new.

• ASCII file of XYZ into SW?
          Hi Bill
          Yes you can: INSRERT\CURVE\CURVE THRU XYZ POINTS
            Charles Culp
            Well, now you've got me hooked.

I've started working on a macro, I think I can get it to work.

It's like an addiction!

**Edit: I have added this post in the macro forum, to discuss some troubleshooting Ineed some help with.
                Charles Culp
                Well, I was able to do it without much struggle.  Attached isa macro that should work well!

Please, give it a shot and let me know if it works for what youneed.  Also, send the data file my way so I can give it atry!

**Edit: And since I deleted my previous posts, I must mentionthat I used the macro created by Jim Sculley, and updated by MattLombard to create a 3D Point Cloud as the basis of my work. So they also deserve some credit for this!

** ReEdit: Adjusted per Jorn's reccomendations of usingthe "Split" function for parsing the text.  Alsoadded inches/metric conversion
                    Bill Chernoff
                    Charles:
                    Thanks!  I found the (minor) parsing error myself, and itworks now.  I will get real data posted today.