10 Replies Latest reply on Feb 23, 2015 12:47 PM by Kelvin Lamport

Circular Extruded Cut Issue

Collin Kinder

HI everyone,

I want to thank you for all of your help on my last question. I'm sorry if this question has been asked before but I'm still learning my way around this forum.

So, before when I would have a solid and would draw a circle on a plane, I could click extruded cut and it would automatically make a beautiful cylindrical cut through the solid to a depth of my choosing. Now, all of the sudden, when I draw a circle and extrude cut it, it automatically inscribes a polygon (like an octagon or something) and extruded cuts that. I've tried opening new drawings and changing settings but I cannot figure out why the heck it's doing this all of the sudden.

This is now screwing up a homework assignment because the way we're supposed to verify our work is by the mass. The mass is more than it should be because of the inscribed polygon it's cutting instead of the outer circle.

Any help would be massively appreciated. Thank you!!

CK

• Re: Circular Extruded Cut Issue
          Kelef Man

hei'ya Colin,

maybe post a scrnsht or a dummy file-

to see the problem you're having-

a dummy file would be best-

it will allow members to check

which SW ver and settings you have-

a scrnsht of the feature selection-

will only eliminate that you're not-

selecting "polygon" instead of "circle"

kelef

Dwight Livingston

Collin

Check the image quality setting under document properties. Slide it to the right. The holes may just look faceted.

Dwight

Collin Kinder

Thanks everyone. I will go check now and report back. If not I will post a screen shot.

Okay so it's definitely not an image quality issue. It's actually making polygon extruded cuts wherever I put a circle. Here's a photo