3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 25, 2015 4:58 AM by Dale Mahalko

Is Solidworks for Education usable for open source design?

Dale Mahalko

This is a license usage question for the lawyer types: Is Solidworks for Education compatible with open source engineering?

I want to explore construction of a ridiculously ambitious virtual reality haptic interface design project which I have no hope of ever making any profit from, and which I don't have all the necessary technical knowledge to complete on my own. The prototype hardware will cost me probably $25,000, trying to use as inexpensive of a design as possible.

I'm just a public school tech support employee, so I don't have much money to play with. I am generally expecting that I'm going to have to forget about trying to patent anything, and just release it all under the Creative Commons "CC-by-NC" license ( Creative Commons — Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 United States — CC BY-NC 3.0 US ) to try to get other people interested in the design and to participate in the project.

I want to do mechanical design and force simulations with Solidworks before spending any money on actual hardware.  Since I work at a public school, I have already access to Solidworks through the school's technical education department.

Project summary. So I'm starting off modeling how to make a keychain hanger? Maybe some coin holders? Nah.

I want to see wearable full-body powered exoskeletons developed as a virtual reality haptic force-feedback interface, but nothing like it currently exists as far as I can tell. This is as close to "the Matrix" without implanting electrodes in the human body.

- X-Y-Z force feedback motion platform approximately 15ft tall/wide/long

- 360-degree rotation pitch/yaw/roll cage attached to the motion platform

- Powered exoskeleton robot suspended in midair in the center of the motion platform

- A human is strapped to the robot and suspended in the motion platform