11 Replies Latest reply on Feb 20, 2015 4:20 PM by Michael Jones

view mesh

Michael Jones

Hi There,

I am quite new to working with point clouds/ mesh.  One problem that I keep running into is that at some point in the design process I can no longer "show" the mesh.  Normally you can "show/hide" the mesh from the right click menu.   But at some point the "show/hide"  is no longer available. 

The only thing that I have done that may have caused this is to do a save as to a new part name - maybe the mesh file got messed up?

See atched image of no longer showing view options.mesh.jpg

• Re: view mesh
          Chris Dordoni

Hi Michael,

This happens to me frequently and its disruptive. You've probably discovered a solution to display the mesh again is to close the SolidWorks file and then reopen it.

Unfortunately, I have not found another way to correct this.

I do not have a SolidWorks "approved" graphics card, and I wonder whether this is somehow related.

Michael Jones

Hi Chris,

I had not found the easy solution, thanks! 

PS using SW2015 SP1.1

I am using the Firepro V4900 which is approved, so must not be a video card problem.

I guess there is no way to test 2014 as you cant open the 2015 files. 

Hopefully it will be tagged as a bug and fixed in future service packs

Michael Jones

Update:  Chris's solution of closing and opening the solidworks file is no longer working. 

If I cannot view the mesh, then the file is dead and I can no longer use it.  There is no way to re-import the mesh that I am aware of?  It seems the only solution is to start over with a new file and re-import the mesh.  This is not an option as I have put a lot of work into the current model.

Can anyone respond with a known solutions?  It appears I have lost a couple weeks of work if not.

Thanks.

Chris Dordoni

This happened to me once a few years ago, and I don't remember now exactly what I did.