21 Replies Latest reply on Feb 23, 2015 7:42 AM by Mike Helsinger

Multiple tolerances on drawing template

Rolando Garza

I’d like to create one D-size sheet template drawing.

Once I use the template, I would like to be able to switch –depending on material- between two sets of tolerance values in the tolerance block.

How can this be done?

Can these values be inherited from the part?

From what I've read, I can create a custom property and fill the text from that property for each precision.

I'd rather not do that because I do not want to allow any value to be placed.

The values I have are specific to material; so, I am looking for more of a toggle option.

Normally, I would just script a reaction that monitors a value change on the part's material; but, I'm new to Solid Works(~1 week now); so, I'm looking for a non-scripted solution.

• Re: Multiple tolerances on drawing template
          Jamil Snead

One thing that comes to mind is that you could have each tolerance value on a different layer, so then you would show the layer for the tolerance you want and hide the other layer. It is not much trouble to switch between them.

Another option would be to have the tolerance information linked to a custom property in the model file, then it would be inherited form the part. However you still run into the challenge of easily setting this value in the part file according to material.

John Stoltzfus

If you are creating a D size drawing for multiple part files then you could save different drawing formats/templates with the different tolerances.  It won't matter which drawing you start from as you can always right click the page and go to properties and load the sheet that pertains to the project your working on.

My recommendation is to keep all that information within the part file, so nothing changes. Setting it up the way you want to do it will open the door for mistakes down the road, different material, different part number, different file, in my book