12 Replies Latest reply on Jan 24, 2016 12:47 AM by Shawn Murphy

Spot Weld Error (Sheet Metal Analysis)

Kanisius Raychitra

Hi. I am studying Car Body Structure that consists of multiple sheet  metal parts. All of the parts are in sheet metal form and they are connected by spot welds.

It can mesh properly. However, when I run the analysis, it has error like this:

" Cannot build Spot Weld. Check for gaps"

I recognize that in Sheet Metal form, it will mesh at mid surface,. This will leave gap about 1/2 thickness of the sheet metal when it meshed.  On the other hand, the spot weld location is specified at the intersecting surface not at mid surface.

COSMOS Companion told that I need to specifiy the surface location, but I think in Sheet Metal everything is fixed at Mid Surface. I tried changing it but it has no effect.

Anyone can help me to get rid of this error? Thanks!

• Re: Spot Weld Error (Sheet Metal Analysis)
          Jared Conway

version/service pack?

cosmos companion is back from like 2004/2005, there have been a lot of changes since then

your parts should basically be resting on each other for the spot weld to work

maybe you aren't selecting the appropriate faces?

please post your model

Rajesh Raj

check list

1) treat as sheet metal

2) welding face must be in no penetration

3)no gap allowed in mate

4) check weld dia like that properties

Kanisius Raychitra

Hi Rajesh,

Can I ask you if you are able to make and analyse this simple model? Solidworks does not allow me to make spot weld because of the same error.

Two sheet metal that is spot welded among each other.

1. Both of them is treated as sheet metal (mid-surface meshed)

2. No penetration is applied.

If you are able to do it, may i ask if you can provide step to step about it?

Thanks!

UPDATE: Somehow, I manage to correct the error by adding split lines.

Jared Conway

post your simple model and the one you fixed so that people that have this problem in the future can take a look