8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 30, 2015 7:52 PM by Jared Conway

Transient thermal problem setup

Malcom Smith

Hi there,

I'm new to Solidworks Simulation and would appreciate some help understanding what kind of study to run for a transient thermal problem.

To help me learn I made a simple model of two metal blocks side by side with a small air gap between. One block starts the simulation with an initial temp of 4 deg C. the other at an initial temp of 40 deg C.

My expectation was that the cold block would heat up to ambient and temporarily cool down the hot block next to it across the air gap. I set convection on all faces to be 50W and ambient to 40 deg C (so that the hot block is the same as ambient).

But all that happens is the cold block warms up to ambient without affecting the hot block...

I read the solvingengineeringproblems and tutorial docs but cant see what I'm doing wrong.

Any help greatly appreciated.

• Re: Transient thermal problem setup
          Mike Pogue

Hi Malcom,

From your description, it sound's like the problem is that the blocks aren't touching. You have to apply a thermal resistance contact condition between the two blocks. You have to look up the thermal resistance of the air gap, which I believe is L/K, Where L is the distance between, and K is the thermal conductivity of air. You should get units of K*m^2/W. (K = Kelvin). SolidWorks can't see or account for the air. It will assume parts that are not touching have no interaction.

Malcom Smith

Thanks for the tips guys!

The application is for a closed volume oven where cold blocks are introduced over time. The blocks do not touch each other but in reality newly added cold blocks pull down the temperature of blocks already in the oven at a higher temperature. The distance between blocks changes depending on placement and I'm not sure how I can fake that for each face of each block.