14 Replies Latest reply on Mar 26, 2018 5:48 PM by Thys Coetzee

Conditional manipulation of EPDM variables

Harry Li

Hello, I am fairly new to EPDM and am trying to implement a data card which allows for the user to select specific multi-line notes which would be automatically be added to drawing templates.  Right now, I am able to load the notes into separate variables using multi-line editboxes and then hiding them so they do not appear in the UI, but I am having trouble getting the logic implemented so that the user can select a specific note, and have that multi-line note stored in a variable attributed to a customproperty.  Does anyone know how I would be able to accomplish this?  Thank you.

• Re: Conditional manipulation of EPDM variables
          Adrian Velazquez

Harry, could you provide some screen captures and/or more detail, II cannot quite understand where you're stuck...

Harry Li

I have attached a screenshot of the data card I'm working with, although I'm not sure how much it would help.  As you can see, I have 3 different categories that the user is able to select; Machined Parts, Molded Parts, and Sheet Metal Parts.  Each individual category has its own associated string of text, which have multiple lines (i.e. I cannot use the normal "controlled by variable" option because it only accepts single-line inputs).  What I want to happen is when a user selects one of these categories, the correct text/description is loaded into a variable and then I can use $PRPSHEET in the drawing template to call that variable.

I'm not sure if this is the best method to accomplish this; if you have any other suggestions, I am open to them.  Basically the end result is I want the user to be able to select one of the 3 categories and have the associated text displayed on a drawing template.  Thanks for your time.

Adrian Velazquez

Harry,