6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 17, 2014 9:40 PM by Chris Dordoni

Does Anyone know of good tutorials for floral design?

Frank Phelps

I am looking to get into CNC woodworking and I am wanting to design some flowers to put on a jewelry box.  Does anyone know where I can find some good tutorials on intricate floral designs?  Thanks in advance for all of the help.

• Re: Does Anyone know of good tutorials for floral design?
          Francis Wilmath

I'm new to the solidworks world but I used to work with Pro/e wildfire. I was also interested in floral designs and spent a lot of time modeling them.

I don't know of any tutorials for floral designs but if you are going to model a lot of them then go through as many surfacing tutorials as you can - you'll need them.

One place you can get ideas for modeling is to look at old buildings. 75-100 years ago architectural ornament was common on buildings and a lot of it is very good. The quality varies from city to city but usually large cities have preserved some of their older buildings.

I used to take pictures of the ornament and then come home and try and model it in Pro/e. It wasn't easy and I used most of the surfacing commands but after a while I got pretty decent at it.

I'm itching to get back into it so if you can take a photo of some ornament, I'll take a crack at it and try and make it into a tutorial.

Frank Phelps

Maybe something similar to this.  Flowers and all.  Thanks in advance.IMG_3459.JPG

Francis Wilmath

The surface features I would use most often for the photo you put up would be sweeps, boundary surface and lofts. As I mentioned I'm

new to Solidworks but those are the commands I would use in Pro/e. You want to get really good at projected sketches and 3d sketches because the above surface features usually follow them.