4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 12, 2014 1:11 AM by Markku Lehtola

Teaching  SolidWorks

Mike Pogue

A search didn't turn up any threads on this.

I'm going to be teaching design with SolidWorks in an engineering technology type program this winter.

I'm curious who else teaches it, and whether they have any comments.

I'm also curious if people who aren't necessarily instructors have any thoughts on things they wish they'd known at the beginning, things they wish others knew, things they think are important.

Finally, I'm interested in compiling a consensus on best practice, since it may do students a disservice to rely solely on my own opinions. But I think that's another thread.

• Re: Teaching  SolidWorks
          Markku Lehtola

Hi,

I've been keeping SW-courses since 2001. I create and maintain the material (about 120 pages inc. exercises for 3...4 days basic course) for the courses myself. I think what is most important is to give good basic skills. Everything is based on them. I mean you don't have to show what you can do with surface tools on basic course...But, tell that they do exist, so they can find and learn them later (or come back to take another course to learn more).

Also, what I find quite important is to show how you can modify the user interface...it makes work so much faster if the UI is customized...for example, I don't use Command Manager at all, because I found tools behind "S" are faster and I get more space for graphics.

Other important stuff (my opinion of course):

• library - on server, there should be librarian to take care of it, otherwise you will have a mess
          • templates - like library
          • configurations - if you don't handle them, you can brake a lot of stuff, so take care that atleast people know what they mean
          • there should be a guide for users in your working place