13 Replies Latest reply on Dec 10, 2014 3:10 PM by Chris Michalski

Problem with Flowsimulation

Henning Wagner

Hello at all!

I am new in the forum and i am a student who uses this Software for the firt time.

I have got a problem with my Flowsimulation results.

If I difine all materials, e.g. aluminium and PTFE, the fluid won't become hotter during the simulation.

Fluid temperature is 20 °C at the inlet and 20 °C at the outlet. It seems that the simulation doesn't change the fluid temperature and only the material temp.

If i don't difine the materials it is working better.The fluid temperature rises from 20°C to 26 °C.

Which method ist the right one?

I want to simulate a liquid cooler. The results should regard the fluid temperature and the solid temperature.

Can someone help?

Thanks in advance!

Henning

• Re: Problem with Flowsimulation
          Chris Michalski

Have you started by going through the tutorials?  They are the first place you should look for answers and knowledge on how to setup flow simulations.

Assuming you have already worked through the tutorials and understand the basics of the software, you can post a screen shot of the geometry as well as the feature tree of how your model is setup to help locate your problem.

Henning Wagner

Hello Chris,

thanks for the fast response.

I have done all tutorials a could find.

Here are the screenshots of my model and the feature tree:

model.jpg

settings.jpg

If I define the materials i am getting wired results:

Here is my fluid subspace:

I am sorry, but it is the german version.

Best regards,

Henning

Chris Michalski

So you have the default material as aluminum.  Which parts did you add PTFE to in the version that did not alter the outlet temperature?

Have you looked at the mesh to verify that your internal serpentine features are being resolved?  Without a local initial mesh or high refinement they are likely lost (although that would be the same for both materials).