13 Replies Latest reply on Dec 4, 2014 11:31 AM by Mike Campbell

Using IEquationMgr in SolidWorks 2014 macro

Mike Campbell

I'm having difficulty gaining access to the functionality of IEquationMgr in a simple macro. I'm hoping someone will offer to show me how to integrate it in.

• Re: Using IEquationMgr in SolidWorks 2014 macro
          Daniel Andersson

This example is found in the SolidWorks API reference. Get Equation Values Example (VBA)
          If you still got trouble, please share a code snippet or give us more information about what you want to do and what errors you are getting.

Mike Campbell

I may be corrected but I don't believe EquationMgr has all the functionality of IEquationMgr. Most specifically I need to be able to set the value of LinkToFile.

Daniel Andersson

I'm not a professional coder. Just a happy mech. engineer getting lost sometimes...

But I do believe that IEquationMgr is equal to EquationMgr. The IEquationMgr is the interface and found in the api refernce. You will find them both in the VBA editor as exposed and the result is same.

I belive that the "I" is a suffix that states that it is a interface, just as people use to add suffix "s" for string variables etc etc. Perhaps I'm wrong since I'm not that skilled and base this on my assumptions. I would be very happy to learn if there is an difference in IEquationMgr and Sldworks.EquationMgr.

Made a sample... with both using the "I"... and as I regulary do, without the suffix  "I". To me, they both give me the same result in the debug window.

Code below will print True/False if there is a linked file, and also the file path.

Option Explicit

Dim I_swApp As ISldWorks
                  Dim I_swModel As IModelDoc2
                  Dim I_swEqMgr As IEquationMgr

Dim swApp As SldWorks.SldWorks
                  Dim swModel As SldWorks.ModelDoc2
                  Dim swEqMgr As SldWorks.EquationMgr

Sub main()

Set I_swApp = Application.SldWorks