11 Replies Latest reply on Nov 19, 2014 1:38 AM by Jared Conway

Setting up Vacuum Simulation

Patrick Hands

Hi,

Im new to this so I hope someone out there can help me as I am quite stuck. I am designing a duel manifold for an end of arm tool for a six axis robot which is aimed to reduce the tubing entering this tool. I have attached some images of the manifold so you can visualize it. The highlighted pink section is to be a vacuum manifold where the one inlet on top is joined to a vacuum manifold to draw a vacuum through the 4 outlets on the bottom. This bottom will be then sealed with a gasket to a base creating an air tight lock. there is then 16 individual nozzles attached to the base fed by this vacuum to pick up light plastic objects.I want to run a simulation to visualize the flow in the manifold and measure the draw at in each of the four areas on the base to see are they equal. You can ignore the curved tubing as that has a different function which I have already solved.

How would I go about setting this problem up?

I have attached a step file incase anyone needs a better look.

Hope you can Help

Patrick

1..PNG2..PNG3..PNG

• Re: Setting up Vacuum Simulation
          Chris Michalski

If I understand correctly what you would likely want to do is a flow simulation with 1atm outside of the cavities and a low pressure at the end of the tube/port.  You will need to define the distance this part is away from the surrounding parts.  The flow will be much different when in open air vs if it is 3mm from a flat plate.  The resistance to flow from the environment in will dramatically affect the uniformity from branch to branch.

I would make an open top box - length and width the same as your block and mate it below.  The depth should be the distance from the surface supporting your plastic parts will be.  (you may need to run this parametrically to vary that height to ensure that as the system approaches the surface the flow remains uniform).