20 Replies Latest reply on Aug 18, 2017 11:50 AM by Dennis Dohogne

why does sw suck so bad?

Charles Frascona

I have been using all of the different solid modeling software for the last 18 years.  Solid works has still not achieved a top tier level yet.  The newest release 2015 is one of the worst engineering package yet.  Yes, if I was a marketing person look to making good looking pictures i would be very content.  But i'm not, I'm an engineer who is trying to design simple electrical panels for a customer.  They where sold a seat of Solid Works under the pretense it was less expensive the other modelers.  Though, this may be somewhat true, they where not told the a simple assembly of 50 parts would bring a supper computer to it knees.  Simple modifications to component parts will cause mating parts to fail, i.e. lost of mating face because it moved. Regeneration, takes 15 mins for 50 parts????  I be blunt, the software is the worst ever, I could not honestly it would rate as a third tier software.  The kids in High School may think it's the bomb, but as a professional it's junk.        

• Re: why does sw suck so bad?
          Roland Schwarz

I don't have the same problems.  Either I'm smart enough to get around these problems or too dumb to see them.

Alin Vargatu

I would be very interested to troubleshoot such an assembly.

Jeff Mirisola

Charles,

If, as you contend, SolidWorks is junk, can you explain why it's so widely used across a variety of fields successfully? How could there be companies out there with 10,000+ components in their assemblies where a 50 part assembly brought your "super computer" to its knees? Could the root cause be you, and the supercomputer, versus the software? Perhaps you should be asking what truly is causing your problems versus simply blaming the software.