11 Replies Latest reply on Oct 21, 2014 5:41 PM by Greg Fowler

Part Not Meshing Due To Interference

Edgar Stone

Greetings all,

Have been browsing these forums for a while now and they have helped me immensely. Certain little tricks and tips that I needed to continue with my design in SolidWorks I had found here with ease. This current problem I am having now, however, has been persisting for longer and I have not seen a topic that has pointed me in the correct direction as yet.

I am quite new to SolidWorks Simulation and as such may not be very use to its abilities and things of that nature. The part I have attached have been giving me problems during meshing due to interference. I am not even sure to check what is actually interfering, much less to solve it. I would appreciate any assistance I could get on this. Possibly a hint on if the way I constructed my part was not well thought out. It may have been as I was just drawing as I got dimension from a very old standing machine.

Please let me know a way to tackle this issue as soon as you get a chance to when you can. Thanks for all help in advance.

• Re: Part Not Meshing Due To Interference
          Frank Krockenberger

Edgar,

I can get you started, I am on sw2012 so I could not load your file,

go to tools, interference detection, make sure "treat coincidence as interference" is un-checked.

Select your assy, select, Calculate.  this will show you what is interfering.

Then,

You can exclude a component or a shell from analysis by suppressing it and then remeshing the model. If a mesh exists and you do not remesh, the components will be considered in the analysis.

-or-

Right-click on the part and select Exclude from Analysis. The part is excluded from the study without suppression. The excluded part will be hidden.

this is about it for me, I am in the learning faze.

Frank

Edgar Stone

Hey Frank,