14 Replies Latest reply on Nov 22, 2014 6:56 PM by Scott Kramer

What hardware spec is the bottleneck in a non-linear structural simulation?

Nathaniel Van Vliet

Trying to see what I can improve to speed up my non-linear analyses.  I'm running an i7 3930k w/ six cores that it only seems to partially utilize.  RAM speed/latency?  SSD I/O?  Or something else?  Where is the hiccup?

• Re: What hardware spec is the bottleneck in a non-linear structural simulation?
          Jerry Steiger

Nathaniel,

I'm no expert on SolidWorks Simulation or on the hardware, so take any advice from me with a whole shaker of salt. It depends on the simulation you are running and the system you are running it on. If you have sufficient RAM, so that the system doesn't have to swap in and out with the SSD, then it is probably your CPU speed that is the weak link. If you don't have enough RAM, then adding RAM would be the right thing to do. (I suspect that you want all of your RAM to be the fastest that will work with your CPU.) If you can't add enough RAM, then SSD I/O is going to be important.

You may also find that your choice of solver is important. Some solvers work better on certain types of problems and some solvers use multiple cores more effectively. It could be that the slow solver that uses the most cores is fastest, or it might turn out that the fast solver on less cores is best. Or you may have no choice.

Jerry S.

• Re: What hardware spec is the bottleneck in a non-linear structural simulation?
            Greg Fowler

I'm no hardware expert myself, but I was told that unlike regular modeling tasks in SW, simulation (and rendering, etc...) can make use use of parallel processing.  Thus a processor  a better parallel pipeline is better.