4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 18, 2014 10:53 PM by James Cloud

compare two drawings to show the difference

James Cloud

hi I have a project to compare two drawings document, to show the difference in the annotations and the bom table, I am going to use vb.net, any ideas how to start this project ! what kind of functions I need to use...

No pdm or solidworks utilities is allowed in this project

• Re: compare two drawings to show the difference
          Daniel Andersson

Hello James,

Welcome to the SolidWorks forum.

I'm a happy amateur in vb.net and not that skilled. There is some application designers lurking around the forums. Hopefully they can provide more feedback than me.

I will share my thoughts about this, but please keep in mind that I'm not a professional coder. How experienced are you in vb.net and how well are you oriented in SolidWorks?

Basically without knowing that much about the requirements you have in the project. I would start to try with a setup like this.

Please note that this is just my thoughts just in front of the screen... there might be downsides with my thoughts... anyone please feel free to comment.

1) Collect data

2) Analyze data

3) Present results

1) Collect data

I would not limit the project cover two drawings, I would keep an more open mind to it. If you use classes and collections you could write and application that could handle (almost..) a unlimited number of drawings. Using classes will also make it easier to expand the application in the future. And since I'm a amateur I can share you thing I discovered that some might laugh about.. Do not use user-interfaces (listviews etc) to store data and process data with. It is easier if you keep it in classes and collections. Then you can choose how to present the results quite easy. To text  file, to excel, to a windows form etc etc. Perhaps there is other opinions out there, but I found it easier to do all coding, functions etc in a way so they can be re-used easily.