14 Replies Latest reply on Dec 5, 2016 10:01 AM by Ricardo Talbot

PDM and Automation

James Guilford

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to PDM so apologize my ignorance in advance. I have a few questions in regards to data managements on SW.

I have been assigned to ease the process of manually entering and editing data sheets on excel by incorporating an automated script so that  when someone changes a part or assembly on Solidworks it would automatically update the data base in different departments. ( Vendors too)

I was reading the forums that this could be done using MSMQ as a medium once a xml file is created, and emailed the pdf file to the correspondence individual. However, I would like to update these files and populate an excel or word file.

I appreciate your help .

Thanks

James

• Re: PDM and Automation
            Jeremiah Davis

Hello James,

I am not exactly sure what you are trying to do, but it sounds like you are looking for some sort of method to export things like item masters into an Excel or XML document that can be published to something like an ERP system?

If so, this should be easy with some of the existing methods that exist, including the built in XML export functionality or the "Generate Parameter File" in dispatch.

James Guilford

Hello Jeremiah,

Thanks for your response. I'm trying to export multilayer BOM,drawing name and number and engineering change notices in an excel file. Furthermore, I would like to have the excel file updates when changes are made to any parts or assemblies.

My goal is to then import the xml or excel file into Netsuite.

Thank you for your help.

James Guilford

I pretty Much need all those information in one signle excel or xml file.

Jeff Sweeney

The concern I have is what happens if I have the Excel file open (locking the file) and you make an update? Your application is going to have to have a queue process. ...and those add to the cost!