10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 25, 2014 1:41 PM by Philippe Thompson

How to increment Revision only if version of files change?

Philippe Thompson

Hi y'all !

I'm fairly new to administering EPDM (first vault setup) and I'm wondering if it's possible to increment a revision of a file ONLY if the version of that file changed.

I've got the transition action to 'Set Variable' then 'Inc. Revision before my "Approved" State, but i can't find a way to create a condition that will only change the revision of the parts that had a version change.

What's frustrating it's that I'm pretty sure this is std stuff, but i can't wrap my head around this !

Thanks in advance !

• Re: How to increment Revision only if version of files change?
          Tim Webb

Hi Philippe,

Take a look here:

2013 SolidWorks Enterprise PDM Help - Incrementing Revisions

These are the options for incrementing the revision.

Hope this is what you are looking for.

Tim CEPA

http://www.equivaq.com

Philippe Thompson

Thanks for the reply Tim,

yep, for now we are incrementing them manually for our standard part. But it isn't automatic. let me explain what I'm looking for...

We have a simple workflow with 3 state

WorkFlow.PNG

once the parts and assemblies in the project moves from "En Approbation" to "Approuvee", they all automatically increment to revision "A". And that's OK for the first iteration of that project, as i want that the shop floor can only see parts with revision (to be able to import them for our laser and bending program).

Then after cutting, bending and welding the project, we might have some ECO for just a few parts for the next production run. When the engineer receives the ECO, he takes the project and uses the transition "Demande de Rev" which puts the parts and assembly back to the state "Conception". He then makes the change to some parts, not all, and after re-submit the project to approval.