9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 25, 2014 10:35 AM by Mark Biasotti

Surfacing challenge.

Ari Arponen

Im quite new to surface modelling, but I want to give it a shot. My goal is to make cover panel for this wall unit (it needs to be fully covered):

Wall.png

As you can see there are many complex shapes. Now what I'm asking in this thread is:

1. What do I need to notice before I start? Any hints?

2. Where should I start (easiest surface, from the front end.. ?)

3. The cover panel should be about 3mm offset from the original surface

I hapily receive any question, free discussion etc.. about this topic.

• Re: Surfacing challenge.
          J. Mather

Ari Arponen wrote:

2. Where should I start ...

Search Google for Ed Eaton Curvy Stuff Tutorials DiMonte Group.

Search Tom Wilson SolidWorks.  (err, maybe that should be Mike Wilson.  Been a while.  SolidWorks One Surface Wonders is a good search term.)

Search Matt Lombard SolidWorks Surfaces.

Roland Schwarz

Before you start "surfacing", take time to analyze the part.  Break it down to its basic shapes and how the intersect and connect.  Once you do that, many of the solutions will present themselves.

Don't be afraid to make a few "scratch" models to experiment with different methods.

Eric Irwin

That is a pretty big challenge for your first surfacing project.  I am guessing that you don't have access to original CAD data for this door frame you are trying to build your skin to?  Generally speaking, the door frame would be driven by the door skin, which would be driven by the overall vehicle form.  Maybe whoever gave you this door frame CAD can also send you some surfaces for the door skin?