6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 20, 2014 4:56 PM by Jamil Snead

Display State/Configurations Help

Matt S.

Hi,

I can use some help with either display states or configurations. I've never used them before and not sure which I use here/how.  Essentially what I have is a box which to simplify it can have 4 components.  In state 1 it will have components 1 and 2 as shown.  In state 2 - component 1 is removed, component 2 slides up into its place, and component 3/4 are added in on the right side.  Can someone give me a quick rundown on how I go about this?

Thanks

Disp or Config.png

• Re: Display State/Configurations Help
          Mark Kaiser

I'm a configurations guy.  Probably has something to do with display states being added to the program long after configurations, and I've never really understood the use of display states.

With configurations, items 3 and 4 would be supressed in state 1, while item 1 would be supressed in state 2.  You would use different assembly mates to position the components in each state.

Matt S.

Edit 2:

If I just place a component without mating it and then I put it in one place in (1), go to (2), and put it elsewhere and then go back to (1) will it move or stay in the same spot?  Do I need to fully constrain it in (1) for the component to remain there only in (1) and then I have to go to (2) and fully constrain it there?

After making multiple configurations if I want to add a new part to the assembly does it automatically add it to all configurations and then I have to mate/hide/suppress as needed?

Jamil Snead