1 Reply Latest reply on Aug 11, 2014 10:36 AM by John Raffensperger

how to make API's

Kevin Currie

Hi Guys,

I am new to the website and the forum, How is everyone doing?

I was wondering if anyone could help in regard with creating API's.

Basically what I would like to know is, we have FICEP machines which cut all our angle steel here, and the machines run on a software called Fenice, for the machines to cut our angles we run a macro within solidworks to create a FNC File. This file is read by the FICEP machines which tells the machine where to cut and punch holes on the angles. Now we have a TIPO-D4 which we use for cutting and punching plates. What i would like to know is, is there anyway to create a Macro which can do the same thing and create a FNC file so that the TIPO knows where to cut and punch the holes. Instead of manually entering part by part into the machine.

I hope have worded this correctly as I am fairly new to Solidworks and Macro's.

Thanks in Advance,

Kevin

• Re: how to make API's
          John Raffensperger

Kevin;

The short answer is "Yes", you can do this.  There are basically two flavors of Macros.  One uses VBA (Visual Basic for Applications), and the other uses .NET (VB or C#).  The VBA Macros can be a little easier to get started with, but the .NET can be more powerful.  This is a bit of a (or huge) oversimplification.  The API Documentation has a pretty good overview of this, along with some "getting started" samples.  From the SolidWorks Help menu, there may be a selection for "API Help".  If that is not there, you may need to download and install the SolidWorks API. Given that you have access to the .NET environment, just about anything is possible.