8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 4, 2014 11:27 PM by Jared Conway

Back and forth, cycling flow

Chris Morrow

flow jpg.JPGFlow rate curve.jpg

Hey,

I'm new to flow simulation and I have gone through a lot of examples and I'm getting a grasp on how effective this tool can be. 

I have a few questions that maybe some of you could help answer.

I have some images here of my project that I'm working on.  I am creating a flow study that has time dependancies.  The inlet flow rate is what I will be changing over time.

I have found where I can specify either an equation or a table of values for flow rate as a function of time.  The main problem I'm running into is that I need to specify a back and forth cyclical flow from +30 ul/s to -30 ul/sec.  Using the table, it will not accept negative values for flow rate (which I guessed it wouldn't but I tried anyway).

How can I create boundry conditions that will allow back and forth flow?  As you can see from the image above (or not due to resolution) I have a flow cycle period of 3 cycles / 5 seconds.

Thanks in advance for any help

• Re: Back and forth, cycling flow
          Chris Ma

Chris,

You are correct in that you cannot input negative flow rates in the software. One way you could approach this would be to use pressure boundary conditions instead of flow conditions. For example, at t=1s you can set the inlet pressure to be higher than the outlet pressure, and then at t=2s set the outlet pressure to be higher than the inlet, causing the flow direction to reverse.

Chris Morrow

Interesting approach, thanks for your help.  I'll try that.  Is it possible to specify in the goals to dynamically change the pressures based on calculated volume flow rates at the inlet and outlet?

I don't have information on the pressures.  And I'd rather drive the simulation using what I know rather than itterating using pressures until I can get the volume flow rate to what I want.

Chris Ma