6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 25, 2014 3:45 AM by Deepak Gupta

Companies Offering Training?

David Luzader

Hello,

I'm new to this forum and new to Solidworks. I have some CAD experience in software such as Alibre Design, Inventor, and NX 8. I am looking to learn Solidworks however. My question is, does anyone know of any companies in the U.S. that offer something like an apprenticeship in Solidworks design? I have taken some machining and CAD classes at technical school, and find plenty of companies offering training/apprenticeships on the machining/manufacturing end. But very few who offer anything like that in the CAD/design end of the process. Most of the jobs I see for CAD are geared for those who are already established with years of experience.

Thanks for any information.

David

• Re: Companies Offering Training?
          Mike Agan

Have you looked at community colleges?

David Luzader

Thank you for your response.

Yes I have. The one I attended had a basic CAD program, but the most of the school's resources were on the machining / manufacturing programs. They did not use Solidworks software either. It left a lot to be desired, but I didn't know what to look for in a program when I signed up. There are a couple of other community colleges nearby that may offer a better experience and more business contacts. I have worked in the industry in a co-op position for a year, where I did some CAD work. Though the company did not use Solidworks, I learned there that it was the industry standard.

John Burrill

When I wanted to learn SolidWorks, I went to work for a VAR as an AutoCAD support tech.  I had a good ammount of experience in CAD but my employer didn't show any indications of using more sophisticated design tools.  So I was at an impasse.