9 Replies Latest reply on Jul 15, 2014 8:03 PM by Jared Conway

Flow sim still slow after HDD wipe

Thomas Murray

Hey  All,

I'm new to SW FLow Simulation, and I was just wondering if there are settings that I'm missing to speed up the flow simulation. I just completely wiped the hard drive to increase system resources but flow simulation still seems slow. I am running 36 GB RAM, on a dual core Xeon 2.3 GHz processor. Im working off of a local drive but the internet here is really slow (not sure if that's a factor).

I am loading the assemblies lightweight, removed shadows, increased windows virtual memory to triple the RAM capacity. Done these things but the system still seems to drag. Is this just truly the nature of flow simulations??? (Just having a cylinder spin inside of a housing filled with oil and trying to determine drag and power loss).

Windows task manager says 6% CPU utilization and only 5.3 GB of RAM being used. I feel like I am missing something here. Pls comment.

-t

• Re: Flow sim still slow after HDD wipe
          Nicholas Luyster

Hi Thomas,

The Internet shouldn't matter if you're working locally and those specs look decent enough.

My question for you is what version of SolidWorks are you running and what stage of the run is slow?

Earlier versions of SolidWorks could do multithreading with the solve but not with the mesh.  If you're on the latest version of SolidWorks, I believe the mesh makes use of multithreading. 

I hope this helps.

All the best,

Nick Luyster

Gosimulation.com

Online SolidWorks Simulation Training

Jared Conway

version/service pack?

how many cells?

steady state or transient?

what physics are included?

what is the solve time? what solve are you hoping to get?

is hyperthreading enabled or disabled?

Jared Conway

also, what made you wipe the system to speed things up?

does the system generally perform well? like if you run a solidworks benchmark or perfmark, does it seems within reason?

Thomas Murray

Hi Jared,