4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 11, 2014 3:05 AM by Khalid Ismail

Solidworks for a student

Khalid Ismail

Hello

I read through the post with "March 2014 suggested specs" but had a few questions as I will need to do some fea and rendering.

Basically I am starting year two of an engineering degree as I launch a second career. I will be doing a fair amount of projects on solidworks from now on and would like to have a computer at home that I can use. I know I will need to do some fea and will need to render stuff for my projects and I also know that I will be using the student version of solidworks that I can get from school.

Beyond that I don't know much but would like to learn. I've never built a computer before but am quite happy to do so for this one. Any and all help is greatly appreciated. Let me know what other information I would need to consider or any other questions so I can help you help me.

• Re: Solidworks for a student
          J. Mather

Do you have a question?

Are you asking what computer you should purchase?

Khalid Ismail

Hrm sorry about that. Between posting late last night and being on my phone I guess I forgot to include the point of the post. I'd like to build a computer to use at home but the recommended specs thread said to post a new topic if you will use fea or do any rendering. I don't have a set budget quite yet as I'm only starting to look at this but most likely around 1000-1500.

Jerry Steiger

Khalid,