4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 8, 2014 4:44 AM by Jared Conway

Rotating Cylinder Flow Help

Thomas Murray

Hi All,

I am new to flow simulation in solidworks and have completed many of the tutorials provided by solidworks.

I am having an issue obtaining the correct flow velocity around a cylinder rotating in a fluid (water). It is my understanding that the velocity of the flow at the cylinder edge should be approximately v = R*w (dimensions of cyl are 13.43 in diameter and 1 in in height). But this not what I get. I am getting results close to 1 m/s for a cylinder spinning in water at 150 rpm (15.7 rad/s), when it should be closer to 2.68 m/s.

Attached are the images of how I setup the sim.help7.png

As you can see, there isn't much flow around the cylinder. At the edge it is blue when it should be red/orange. I read another post, and it said to go into component control and disable the revolved cylinder encompassing the object rotating, is this true? I've tried this, and still it dishes out the same results. (Check mark in component control dialog boxes mean the component is included or excluded in flow calcs???) Not sure why I am getting a low flow velocity around the cylinder boundary (not even close to v = r*w)

Pls help,

SIM_PLS_WORK!

Message was edited by: Thomas Murray

• Re: Rotating Cylinder Flow Help
          Thomas Murray

I have determined a 'workaround' for the problem I am having. If I take a cut plot of velocity perpendicular to the cylinder axis, I get inaccurate values, but if I take a cut plot of velocity parallel to the cylinder axis I get correct values (see new image attached).

Why the two different answers on each cut plot? I mean, clearly where the two cut plots intersect the velocity values should be similar, right?

help8.png

Jared Conway

First, The cut plots should match. So I would double check they are plotting the exact same stuff.