15 Replies Latest reply on Jul 9, 2014 6:28 PM by Don Cheke

SOLIDWORKS: Books for Beginners??

David Lewis Jr

Hello,

My name is David and I work for a defense contractor. I have been given a directive by my company to obtain a fundamental understanding of solidworks. I have ZERO background in any type of 2D or 3D drawing software, exept a brief stint of AutoCAD for a couple of months a few years back. My current duties will be placed on hold for the next 6 months so i cna learn this software. I have already registered with our reseller for Fundamentals1 and 2. Those classes start later this month. Before i go to the classes i would like to purchase a publication so i can study up and come into the class knowing at least a tad bit of the basics. I am asking you guys if you have any recommendations on books for a newcomer like myself to this software.

Thanks!

• Re: SOLIDWORKS: Books for Beginners??
          Alin Vargatu

David, if you paid for the course already, ask your VAR to ship you the manuals before the class. There is no book that is even close to the official SW manuals from the quality point of view.

Also, watch the free online videos from my.solidworks.com.

Glenn Schroeder

Welcome to the forum.  I agree with J. Mather about the tutorials.  In my opinion hands on working with the software is a better way to learn than from a book.   And you'll get more from the classes if you already have been working with it some before the class.

And you're starting out very similar to how I did.  From my observations it may be easier to learn SW with no previous experience with other modeling or drafting software.  You don't have any habits to un-learn.

Be sure to come back here if (when) you have questions.

Alin Vargatu

Everyone should ask himself/ herself at least 2 questions:

1. "How fast do I need to become productive?".

2. "Is it OK to learn bad habits right from the beginning?"