10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 9, 2014 10:05 AM by Clemence Wiart

Plot stress along defined line

Clemence Wiart

Hello to all,

I am pretty sure this question is basic and the answer straightforward, so please be nice! (I am new to Solidworks).

Here is my problem. I am applying torsion to a notched cylindrical specimen, and I would like to plot the stress from the center of the notch to the tip.

I found that I could apply some probes myself, and then have a graph of stress vs. # probes.

However, what I wish to do is have specific values.. what I mean is I would like to obtain the stress at specific points. From 0mm (the center of the notch) to Xmm (the tip) by steps of 0.1mm (or less).

I have attached a screenshot of what I have at the moment, maybe it'll clear up what I'm trying to explain.

Is there any way to achieve this?

Thank you in advance for your help

Screen Shot 2014-06-25 at 2.16.38 PM.png

• Re: Plot stress along defined line
          Shaun Densberger

I found that I could apply some probes myself, and then have a graph of stress vs. # probes.

You can also create a plot along the curve. For example, to create a von-Mises stress along the curve, you'd right click on on the von-Mises stress definition (Stress1 by default), go to 'Probe', select 'On selected entities' under 'Option" at the top, selected the curve in the 'Results' box, hit 'Update' below, then hit the 'Plot' button under 'Results Options'.

However, what I wish to do is have specific values.. what I mean is I would like to obtain the stress at specific points.

The plot points are the values at nodes along the curve, so if you wanted results every 0.1 mm or less, then you'd need to define your mesh such that you have nodes spaced 0.1 mm or less along the curve (such as a mesh control along the edge with the corresponding element size definition).

From 0mm (the center of the notch) to Xmm (the tip) by steps of 0.1mm (or less).