11 Replies Latest reply on Nov 25, 2014 11:21 AM by Jared Conway

Time step

Aibolat Dyuisenakhmetov

I am new to SW and I am curios if there is any way to control time step in SW FlowSimulation.

• Re: Time step
          Jared Conway

assuming transient analysis?

if you go in calculation control > there is a manual time step option

Aibolat Dyuisenakhmetov

Thank you for your answer. You replied to my question about centrifugal pump. As far as I understand the simulation of centrifugal pump is semi-transient. This question is connected with it. Since the value of torque oscillates we thought that increasing time step will solve this problem.

Kind Regards,

Aibolat

Jared Conway

increasing the time step will probably make things worse

Aibolat Dyuisenakhmetov

Dear Jared Conway,

Is there any possibility to change time step in a semi-transient(steady-state) analysis? We ran the simulation of centrifugal pump with casing and faced several different problems. Firstly, mass flow rate did not converge to specified value of 0.1% from total mass flow rate. Secondly, when we compare experimental and numerical values of torque, the experimental is 0.21Nm and mumerical is 0.12 Nm. Thirdly, friction focres exhibits fluctuations with amplitude of 50% of average value. However, the numerical pressure drop is in a good agreement with experimental one. We think that von Karman votices form right after the blades and this introduces such oscillations. In order to get rid of them we thought to increase time step. Thank you in advance. Any help will be appreciated.

Regards, Aibolat

Jared Conway

the controls are what you are see are what you get, as such, no there are no settings to change that

best to report to your var and get a convo started with the developers