14 Replies Latest reply on Jun 23, 2014 3:34 PM by Andrew Kronquist

How do people use the forum?

Nathan Rollins

Hi all,

I hope I get a decent audience posting here.  I am not really a newbie on this site - based on my sign-up date, but I do not use the site as much as I would like.  I am a very active participant on another forum and would like to give back to this one as I have received so much help.  These forums are successful when there is both give and take.  I feel like I have only been taking from you folks.

My high level of participation in the other group is due to the simplicity and ease of communication - it is an email group.  All messages sent to the forum come to my inbox and in order to reply, I simply reply to all.  So I never need to launch a browser and login to seewhat is going on.  It is very convenient.  I find that the only time I get on this forum is when I am having trouble and need help.  Whenever I am on here, I always browse the recent posts and see if there is anything interesting or relevant that I can contribute to, but as I get more proficient using SWX, those instances get less frequent - a sad irony; as I am able to contribute more, I visit less.

What I want is my old email system back where I can get posts via email as they are submitted and then reply to them with a comment / solution / idea.  I believe that if this functionality were available, there would be a much richer experience for everyone.

We all see the heavy hitters on here and we have all benefitted from their generosity of both time and knowlege - I know I don't speak just for myself when I say "Thank You!"

So, I ask you - heavy hitters and all others as well, How do you monitor the new posts?  Is it your habit to launch the site and log-in every morning?  Is there an email feed that you can subscribe to that I am not aware of?  Can I configure my account to receive notifications of new posts?