31 Replies Latest reply on Feb 24, 2015 9:26 AM by Philip Lane

Managing Versions of Revisions

Braden MacDonald

Hello Community,

I am an intern working with SolidWorks EPDM 2013 for the first time, just for reference.

I have a situation where we will be migrating data from our current solidworks server to a new server, but our engineers have several versions of revisions that is taking up enourmous amounts of space. We want to figure out how to automatically reduce our outdated versions by using EPDM to keep all the revisions, keep a select amount of versions, and delete the rest of the versions. Has anyone ever heard of this or know how to do this? Thank you in advance!

• Re: Managing Versions of Revisions
          Jeremy Feist

I believe you will want to look at the "cold storage" options for the vault, or I should say, have the admin look at them. we have set them here to keep everything with an EPDM rev flag + the last 10 versions in the active file database. everything else gets archived.

Braden MacDonald

Thanks for your fast reply! I will look into that and report back if I find anything else!

Bill Stadler

I am not sure Cold Storage is going to get you what you are looking for but I have not looked at cold storage in a long time.

We have had this conversation with SolidWorks and our VAR many times.  The issue they keep coming back to is if you wipe out versions that are being referenced by other files those other files will be broken?  We us "Always use latest version" so that would not really be an issue for us.