18 Replies Latest reply on Jul 2, 2014 6:46 AM by Simone Storace

Problem with cavitation in a simple model

Simone Storace

Hi,

let me introduce myself: my name is Simone and I am a novice in this community and in SW.

I've just started to use SW-FS and I immediately found a question about cavitation.

I'll attach 3 pictures and explain:

img 1) -> Contours of static pressure used to find where cavitation can grow, that is the part in which water pressure, at a constant and fixed temperature, drops below the value of the vaporization pressure . So I redo the calculation with cavitation method activated.

img 2) 3) -> contours of pressure and mass fraction of vapor in the second calculation. In this case the pressure seems to have a higher value of pressure than before and now the minimum value is greater than vaporization pressure.

How is possible to have a non-zero value for a mass fraction of vapor with a value of pression greater than vaporization pressure?

Boundary condition:

- Transferred boundary condition in inlet (this is a submodel)

- Fixed value in pressure outlet (P=110000 Pa)

- Adiabatic wall and stationary wall (no rotating zone)

- Temperature =362K

- Vaporization Pressure = 70000 Pa

Thanks,

best regards

Simone

• Re: Problem with cavitation in a simple model
          Jared Conway

Have you tried this without transferred bcs?

What are your convergence criteria?

Simone Storace

No, I've not tried yet, but I'll do a test today with a simple model with "standard" bc pressure/pressure.

My convergence critetia is the same suggesed in Flow Simulation Help Topic, 2.5 travel fixed and global goal density.

Yesterday I did another model with a longer outlet pipe; the cavitation zone moved a bit to outlet, but the problem has remained (mass fraction of vapor non-zero with static pressure > P vaporiz).

Thank you

Jared Conway