8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 13, 2014 5:09 AM by Mark Scholten

local stress peaks

Mark Scholten

Hi everyone,

i am still very new to FEA and continuing to ask questions. i am wondering about the following:

when simulating an almost square cabinet, lifted by two points on the diagonal, i find some very localized stress peaks. filleting sharp reentrant corners does not take away the stress peaks, but adding structure does.

even though the stresses are beyond the yield stress, the equivalent strains are quite small. is it safe to assume that, as long as the stress state is not hydrostatic, the material will only deform plastically in a very small volume and NOT rupture?

thanks, Mark

• Re: local stress peaks
          Mike Pogue

Hello Mark. You should post screenshots or a model--there are some experts here who can give you really good advice about your specific situation. In general though, if you don't have a fatigue problem and your material is ductile, very small volumes of yield are probably acceptable. What is very small is open to interpretation.

Mark Scholten

Hi Mike,

thanks for your reply. I hope the picture is clear enough (I often find that i need to rotate back and forth the structure on screen to get a clear sense of the geometry).

It is a sectioned von Mises stress plot. The structure that is pictured basically is a corner post with two beams meeting perpendicularly at the top and a diagonal beam in between. The load case considered here is lifting the structure by lugs mounted on the tops of the OTHER two diagonally opposed corner posts (so NOT by the one pictured here).