9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 11, 2014 3:52 PM by Bernie Daraz

Bill of Materials help

Ray Van

Okay, so I have ben taking over a project on solidworks for about a mounth and it is coming close to that time that I need to make a BOM.  I have never mde one of these before so i have a couple of questions.  The first picture is what i selected as my BOM and then the second one is how it shows up.

1)How can I make BOM fit on a sheet?

2)If i have drawings for everthing that BOM has how do I insert it into this new drawing?

3)Am i correct on the selection i made for the first picture?

Any help at all would be great, I am new to Bill of materials and need to know how it works.

Thanks!

• Re: Bill of Materials help
          Ray Van

Sorry about the pictures I just relized since I have two screens it did that.  If you need me to redo it i can but i think it shows the general concept.

Jeff Mirisola

Check out the Bill of Materials info in the Help section. Lesson 3 in the tutorials covers basic drawings and there's also an advanced drawing tutorial, both of which will help.

Jamil Snead

1) There are a couple things you can do to make the table fit. If you make the rows wider so that all of the information in each cell can fit on one line, then the whole table can get shorter. If you need to shorten all of the rows at once you can right click on the plus sign at the top left of the table and select Formatting > Row Height, and then set a value that will apply to all rows. The other thing you can do is break the table up into 2 sections and locate them side-by-side. To do this right click on a row number and select Split > Horizontally above or below. This will break it into 2 tables. If it still doesn't fit because of the assembly view you might need to put the BOM on a separate sheet.