6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 27, 2014 1:32 PM by V. S

Simulation not Observing Fixtures (Fixed Geometry/Boundary Conditions)

V. S

Hi all,

I'm trying to conduct a frequency analysis on a larger assembly and noticed that faces I had applied fixtures to were not working. I had applied fixed geometries to these faces but the simulation results showed that they would translate and rotate. The results were the same as if I didn't have any fixtures. I had 6 rigid body modes with frequencies close to 0Hz and the rest were modes as if the model was not constrained at all.

I have attached the solidworks part which seems to be the source of the problem. It is a sheet metal part. In the assembly it was in, I tried both fixed geometry and immovable fixtures but neither worked. I am a beginner so I'm wondering if there is some nuance that I am not privy to. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks.

• Re: Simulation not Observing Fixtures (Fixed Geometry/Boundary Conditions)
          V. S

I suppose I should also add that in the assembly, there are no interferences and my mates and bonds are coincident. I don't think that this should have any effect as even in the part file (attached above) the simulation doesn't run as expected.

Jerry Steiger

V.S.

I didn't look at your file, but from your text, I suspect that you have not applied the proper boundary conditions in the analysis. The mates in SolidWorks don't translate automatically into boundary conditions in SolidWorks Simulation. You have to set up the contacts in Simulation.

Jerry S.

V. S

Hi Jerry,