11 Replies Latest reply on Jun 2, 2014 12:37 PM by Jeremy Feist

bolt hole circles

Thomas Kiefer Jr

im wondering how to draw bolt hole circles on a sketch  ive attached the sketch

thanks

Tom

• Re: bolt hole circles
          Kevin Kappes

Are you just needing holes for the bolts to go through, or are you needing threaded bolt holes?

If you're just needing simple holes, create a sketch on the surface the holes need to go through.  Draw the first circle and dimension it from the center of the part.  Then, to save time, you can use the circular pattern tool by selecting the circle to be patterned, the centerpoint as the point to rotate around, and set the number of holes, equal spacing, distance between each, etc.  You can also make one hole, and pattern the feature of the hole using the feature circular pattern tool.

Thomas Kiefer Jr

They need to be threaded holes thanks for your help im new at this and learning on my own with no help

Jeremy Feist

similar process for threaded holes - just a different size hole. and if you don't want to look up the size for the hole, use the hole wizard for that first hole.

Kevin Kappes

There are a few ways this can be done.

One is Solidworks hole wizard tool.  This will create a hole and call it out as threaded, however, as far as I know, it doesn't display the threads.  Personally I'm not a fan of that, so I use my second method, which is a bit more convoluted.

For actual full thread display in parts, I make a swept cut of the thread profile.  Here are my steps:

1: Find the specifications online for thread dimensions for the thread you wish.

2: Cut a hole with the diameter equal to the minimum inner diameter of the threads.

3: At one edge of the hole, create a sketch along the diameter of the hole at one of the ends of it, for the profile to be cut out for one pitch of the threads.

4. Create a helix on the hole, using the height and pitch settings.  Height is how deep you want the threads to be tapped,