8 Replies Latest reply on May 9, 2014 7:16 PM by Jamil Snead

Bottom-Up / Top-Down hybrid

Richard K.

Short question:

Can I insert multiple copies of a part, perhaps across several unrelated assemblies, but dimension them differently or use different "master" skeleton sketches to drive them?  Can all the different instances / assemblies share a single part file?

Long version:

I'm new to assemblies and looking for some advice on design methodology.  I'm trying to create a set of generic, reusable components that can be adjusted when placed in another part or assembly.

Here's how I'm picturing it should work in my head:

Let's say I design a "parametric" cabinet part where the width, height and depth are adjustable.  Accomplishing this seems straightforward; I can a) simply leave those three dimensions undefined in my sketch[es], b) mark them as "driven", or c) attach them to global variables.  The sketches are set up such that I can drag around the undefined entities (or play with the variables) and the part responds intelligently - i.e. as the overall cabinet width grows, the thickness of its sides remains constant.

Next I want to drop the part into an assembly (or another part), and do one or more of the following:

1) Dimension the sides of the cabinet as a whole

2) Set up mates to define its dimensions (e.g. mate the sides of the cabinet to two fixed, adjacent walls)

3) Define relations between the part and entities in a "skeleton sketch" in my assembly (i.e. "top-down" approach where a master sketch drives the placed part)

4) Fuse variables in the part to variables / equations in the assembly (a more mathematical top-down approach).