6 Replies Latest reply on May 7, 2014 9:40 AM by Chris Dordoni

How would you model this?

Charles Fried

Hello,

So I've been using solidworks for a few years and recently built myself an fdm printer.

I want to start modelling little more "arty"  stuff in solidworks a bit like this.

Is Solidworks really not the program for it? Something is telling me T-splines in rhino would be ideal but the though of learning two new software is really off putting.

If not how would you go about modelling something like this?

Thanks in advance for the advice!

http://thingiverse-production.s3.amazonaws.com/renders/5e/d9/ef/6a/ba/NukeLamp_preview_featured.jpg

• Re: How would you model this?
          Eric Irwin

You could start by drawing a mushroom and then spend a lot of time with the Freeform (Insert/Surface/Freeform) tool.  It will take a lot of time, but it may be possible.

Mark Kaiser

That would not be something to do in SW.  Really not sure if any MCAD software would be good for this.

Andrew Kronquist

I would use the free version Sculptris by Zbrush for that kind of work. You start with a "clay" ball, and work it like clay with your tools. After that you need to convert it to .stl using Meshmixer so you can slice it up for your printer.

Chris Dordoni

T-Splines and Power Nurbs (Power Surfacing) for that matter, use the polys for pushing around a nurbs surface in ways you can't do easily with standard nurbs tools. They are not really intended to convert poly models to Nurbs. They both have limits to the amount of polys they can handle, and that limit is far lower than anything you would get from 3d scanning or sculpting in ZBrush or other poly modeler.

If the intent is to 3d print this only, do it in a poly modeling program.

If you really needed the sculptural shape as nurbs (ie for tooling), you would still model it in polys, then use a high end tool such as Geomagic Studio or RapidForm to convert polys to nurbs.

Charles Fried

Thanks for all your answers!